Memorable Day

It was a Friday , a week where we had two snow days and two delayed openings.  A  5th grade student arrived in my classroom by herself which is pretty typical. I suspect she probably ran down the hall to be the first in the room.  She dropped her backpack in front of her desk and went to the closet.  She went near her backpack and said, “Cat.”  I watched as she unzipped her backpack and she said, “My cat.”  I asked her, “Are you kidding?” as I walked over to her backpack.  I was fully expecting a stuffed animal inside, but much to my surprise was a full grown cat that was inside her backpack.  She exclaimed, ” I don’t know how she got in there.  I was wondering why my backpack was so heavy!”   I quickly picked up the backpack that weighed a good ten pounds and walked across the hall to another fifth grade teacher.  I called by her first name and then changed it to her last name as the other students swarmed the hallway.  I asked if she could watch my class while I dropped a cat off in the office.  She was taken aback and said sure as I walked down the hallway with the cat and my student.  The secretary and the special ed teacher were in the office and I told them I had a cat to drop off.  In the end the secretary reached her dad on his way out the door to go skiing and he picked up the cat.  Later I found out some of the fifth grade students were petting the cat in the backpack while waiting in the cafeteria to be dismissed to their classrooms.

Word spread like wildfire.  Over the weekend I got a couple of e-mails from teachers that said simply, “Meow.”  You can’t make this stuff up!

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Memorable Day

  1. How much fun and innocent craziness! Thanks for sharing. I’m smiling just thinking about the cat in the backpack. It makes a good title for a picture book.
    Bernadette

  2. I’m imagining both the student’s thoughts as she went to school, trying to figure out or guessing at why her backpack was so heavy, as well as what the cat would write about this memorable day! Great inspiration for some stories!

  3. arjeha says:

    I love this story. What a way to start the day!

  4. elsie says:

    That was certainly a different way to start a day. Too funny!

  5. Jackie Haworth Hoy says:

    What a fun story. That must have been a laid back kitty and probably enjoyed all of the attention.

  6. This is so funny., I love the story and I love cats. I featured my Perry watching snow as part of my Slice of Life post at:

    http://mary-anderingcreatively.blogspot.com/2014/02/twas-day-and-night-before-big-ice-storm.html

  7. Reblogged this on Mary-andering Among The Pages and commented:
    Funny cat in school story. LOL 🙂

  8. Ramona says:

    This slice made me chuckle! What a way to begin the day. I bet it kept you smiling all day. Last year, I had a student with a rat in her pocket!

Leave a Reply

