OLW-Mindfulness

I have been feeling a bit disconnected since the beginning of the new year.  Lots of changes going on within my extended family.  Last year I jumped right into finding my OLW.  This year not so much.  I have been toying with the word mindfulness.  About 3 years ago I was having a difficult time emotionally.  Someone suggested meditation and I began mindfulness meditation.  It was very helpful, but as time has gone on I have not been very consistent.  I was thinking if mindfulness was my OLW perhaps I would be more consistent with meditation.   Part of me felt that I was using that as a ploy.

Early Saturday morning I drove through the pouring rain and the thick fog for an appointment for a 4 hour remedial reading exam.  I was busy thinking about the directions, my coffee, my bagel, my umbrella, etc.  I got out of the car and lo and behold I forgot my i.d.  I couldn’t take the test.

Surprise!  I didn’t yell and scream and beat myself up over it.  I got back in the car and remained calm telling myself maybe it was meant to be, maybe I wasn’t ready to take this test and maybe it is all for the best.  I had a 40 minute ride home on back country roads behind an elderly couple.  I saw this as an opportunity to be mindful that when life gives you lemons, you make lemonade.  It was a wonderful ride home.  Mindfulness is officially my 2014 OLW.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to OLW-Mindfulness

  1. Jaana says:

    I really enjoy reading posts about how people find their OLW–or is it OLW finding them. You seem to be embracing mindfulness in a quiet yet powerful way. Your eyes are open and you are watching for the opportunities. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Thanks for sharing your word. Sounds like you are reaping the benefits of your word already.
    Bernadette

  3. Beth Scanlon says:

    I love your word! What I love most about reading these posts are all the different words I read and none are the same, but they all could be mine! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

