Fight

Fight:

All my life I have been a fight- avoider if there is such a phrase.  I grew up in a family of nine and I was a watcher, kind of like a wallflower avoiding confrontation at all costs.  My Irish father ruled the house with an iron fist and was quick to anger.   My three brothers were often the brunt of his anger and I watched and chose a different path.  A path of avoiding conflict.  The problem at times was my brother/sidekick loved to live dangerously.  I learned from him that I would rather not fight than get in trouble with my dad.  As an adult I hate fights.  I am surrounded by arguments between my youngest daughter and my husband.  Neither is willing to back down.  When it becomes overwhelming I choose to go for a walk.   I realize now that I should have taken a slightly different path as a child and entered into more conflict so I could have developed a stronger back bone.  Maybe that should be my New Years resolution.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

