Reflections on the first day

The day went so quickly in fifth grade!  Not enough time.  We switched our three classes.  Trying to put names to faces in the half hour spent with the other classes was difficult.  I gave them a quiz about me which they enjoyed.  It was  a fun way to get to know me.  I am exhausted and I know I need to build my teaching stamina.  The pièce de résistance this evening was homemade cookies that my daughter made for me.  When my girls were in school it was a tradition that I would make cookies for them on the first day of school.  I love that I am now a recipient of that tradition.  Life is very good!

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reflections on the first day

  1. elsie says:

    So glad to hear that first day was awesome, especially those chocolate chip cookies. Have a great year!

  2. Here’s to a full year of great days like this one!

  3. newtreemom says:

    Fun to read about the tradition being carried on! Also like your quiz idea.

Leave a Reply

