Last Day

Today was my last day teaching fourth grade.  Next year I will be back in fifth grade again. Fourth grade was only a one year visit for me.  I am okay with that.  Due to circumstances with other teachers I was asked if I would be willing to go back to fifth grade.  I decided that I would be willing to do that.  In part because I was the only teacher experienced in fifth grade and the option would have been for a third grade teacher to move to fifth.  I didn’t think that was fair or right.  I am content with my decision, but I am at times unsure because this is the “class” that everyone knows about.  The plus is that I know the players and there is comfort in familiarity.  This year for many reasons has made me realize you can’t have control over everything and you just need to do the best you can.  That’s one of those life lessons that you either accept or fight to the death.  I choose to accept.  It’s a bit more freeing.  Looking forward to the challenges ahead.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Last Day

  1. You are always so positive and upbeat. I am sure you are a blessing to the teachers in your school.

  2. newtreemom says:

    God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.

    Your writing today reminds me of this prayer. Thanks and all the best as you meet the challenges ahead.

  3. blkdrama says:

    What a great attitude to the craziness of this moment in education. Ironic, in Finland teachers have the same kids for 3 years, in grades 1-3, 4-6, and often 7-9.

Leave a Reply

