Family Stories

My mother-in-law is the only grandparent my daughters have.  She is showing signs of dementia. On Friday my husband picked her up at her home an hour away and brought her to our house to spend the night.  During our time with her she shared some stories of her childhood that we had never heard before.  Her father was a potato packer in upstate Maine.  When she was three she and the rest of her seven siblings would go out to the fields and pick potatoes.  She had her own little potato basket.   It was a family affair, no babysitter required.  Her father kept track of each child’s contribution and at the end of the season he gave them each an allowance to buy clothes.  Her father was well known in the community.  Townspeople would come to their house regularly for prayer meetings. This was a wake up call to engage her in conversations about her life.  Time is fleeting,  these stories need to be told and documented so they will be passed on to her 12 grandchildren and three great grandsons.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Family Stories

  1. Laura LA says:

    I wish I had heard more of my mother’s stories before she passed, but I have been taking the time to write down what I remember and to talk with my siblings and cousins for their own family memories. This is my summer project (for the next decade or so . . .). Enjoy listening and writing your family stories – and thanks for sharing!

  2. elsie says:

    You are wise to realize this is an opportunity that will be lost. What an interesting story of picking potatoes at age three.

  3. Jaana says:

    What a wonderful opportunity you have! You also gave me an idea to write about my experiences on my uncle’s potato fields as a child. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

