Restarting an old tradition

Today was the first time in many, many years that I went to church on Good Friday.  It brought back a flood of old memories.  As I entered church I was thinking about the many times my brother and I would come during Good Friday with my mom to church.  She would kneel and pray while my brother and I would alternate between sitting and kneeling quietly waiting until my mom was done.  It was a minimum of an hour.  We were well behaved, always silent.  I don’t remember a great deal of praying, mostly just thinking about kid stuff, wondering how long I had been sitting and thinking how much longer.

Today was different there was prayer, singing, scripture and a homily.  It was peaceful and solemn and at times it moved me to tears.

A beautiful way to start the day and a new beginning for an old tradition.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Restarting an old tradition

  1. Thank you for sharing the beginning of an old tradition.

  2. jhaworthoy says:

    I was thinking the same thing today. I used to sing in the choir on Good Friday…our high school choir. I have not been for a long time. I have wandered from organized religion…returned and wandered again…but still like the traditions and the music. This time of year…Easter…is such a renewal to life…and I feel that in your post today. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. Bev says:

    We did not go to a service today – we babysat. But thios evening I watched the Bible – I am really enjoying that series. The last one is Sunday.

Leave a Reply

