Samantha

At one time in my life I was the general manager of a temporary help service that included day laborers as well as office workers. Friday was pay day and employees were coming in to get their paychecks.  One of my workers came in holding a can in a brown bag and in his other hand was a very small puppy that he found in a box on the corner of the street.  She was making whining noises.  I told him he could leave her.  She appeared to be some kind of a terrier mix and she seemed to be starving.   Not having much to give her I gave her some milk and she quickly lapped it up.

Needless to say I brought her home. My husband was away on a business trip.  I spread newspaper around my bedroom and attempted to get some sleep.  In the morning I put her in the kitchen and used some chairs to block her from wandering around the house.

When I got home that night, I opened the front door and saw my husband lying on the couch with his hand petting Samantha.  I said I guess you two have met. She had run between his legs as he opened the door and he thought at first it was a rat.

Thus began our seventeen year adventure with Samantha.  An amazing, wonderful dog who adored  and protected our girls. A dog who loved carrots and who would hit a bell to let us know she needed a bathroom break.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Samantha

  1. Ellen Spears says:

    You told the beginning of your relationship with just the right details.

  2. Tam says:

    Great story of a new found friend. Your husband adjusted so fast–must have been fate for all of you. Love dog stories.

Leave a Reply

