Awakening

slol 2013

A sense of consciousness, the mind at odds. Thinking of things to be done.  I don’t feel rested.  A sense of light shining in the room.  Having a feeling of anxiousness left by a dream. Trying to remember, but can’t.  Open my eyes. Looking out the window the sky is silver gray with a white jet streak. Watching a plane framed by tall tree branches leaving a trail traveling up and wondering what is its destination? Wondering who is on the plane? My husband is asleep beside me breathing deeply. Shades of pink appear in the sky as the sun begins to show.  A repeating noise outside causes me to rise.  I look out the window and a hairy woodpecker is on the suet making joyful sounds each time he pecks the suet. I watch him laughing to myself and decide it is time to rise.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Awakening

  1. amelia1973 says:

    The description is awesome and says so much!

  2. jhaworthoy says:

    Ah, to awaken to the sound of a woodpecker…we have one too! I liked your gentle awakening…and then the repeating noise causing you to finally rise. Jackie http://familytrove.blogspot.com/

  3. elsie says:

    What a perfect example of taking something small and writing big from it.

Leave a Reply

