This year

slol 2013

This is the year I learn about fourth grade.
This is the year there is no clear curriculum and limited resources.
This is the year I decide to take  a grad class.
This is the year I have many behavior issues.
This is the year I choose my battles.
This is the year a student says your awesome – you never yell.
This is the year of bullying issues.
This is the year I often count the days.                                                                                                This is the year I try not to get down on myself.                                                                                        This is the year I don’t feel confident.                                                                                         This  is the year I initiate grade level conversations and meetings.                                         This the year I get to test things out and gain knowledge.                                                         This is the year I gain knowledge to do it better the second time around.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This year

  1. Yes.
    so much resonates here
    thank you for the contemplativeness of your journey.

  2. Judy Curtiss says:

    A year of learning, living, trying new things. A year of challenge and anticipation. Thanks for sharing your journey with us.

  3. There are so many things that shape us and go into our years as teachers. The repeating phrase highlighted the contradictions, challenges and blessings!

  4. elle1955 says:

    I love the structure and the move towards hope.

Leave a Reply

