A leader and a follower

slol 2013   Today I  tutored a 2nd grade ESL student for my grad class.He is a fluent reader and has no discernible accent. He has little understanding of opposites so I shared the book, Black? White! Day? Night!- A Book of Opposites.  Some of the words were tricky for him.  He could read the words, but did not necessarily know what they meant, such as huge.  One of the pictures was a group of 5 people and it was showing  follow and lead.  I pointed out the pictures and explained it to him.  Shortly afterwards he had to go to the bathroom and he told me he would lead and I should follow.  Coming back from the bathroom he suggested I lead and he should follow.  I did what he suggested.  I so enjoyed being the leader and turning and stopping and watching him giggle as I pointed to myself saying lead and then pointing to him and saying follow.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A leader and a follower

  1. I loved your teaching reflection in your post today. It is important to document great teaching and learning moments, as they inspire us to grow as teachers.

  2. elsie says:

    It’s so fun when you can get a connection to life. It sounds like he was a quick learner.

  3. Donna says:

    Whatever it takes!

  4. Tara says:

    I will need to check out that book. It sounds like you had a great time. I’m glad to hear he was trying to apply what he was reading!

  5. newtreemom says:

    I’m sure that’s a concept that will really stick in his mind now so he can start making more and more connections.

Leave a Reply

