Senses

Unfamiliar smells greeted me. A mixture of soy, ginger, slol 2013 seaweed, fish and exotic spices. It was all very new to me.

Sounds of laughter, children giggling, excited voices, advice about the ripeness of a strange fruit, voices speaking Chinese and Thai.

Strange sights of  foreign vegetables, packages of foreign items written in Chinese.    A big bin filled with small fish and a woman choosing the fish and putting them in a bag while her children squealed with excitement.

The weight of the Kabocha squash and the waxy feel of the cassava.

The experience of a different culture gives me new knowledge and an appreciation of the world around me.


About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Senses

  1. elsie says:

    Markets places are always so interesting. I love to wander through them when we travel abroad. There’s always something new to discover. I had a student once who talked about his favorite food, cassava. Just the mention makes me think of that little boy, then I smile.

Leave a Reply

