In the limelight

My school is the only elementary school in the district that has an auditorium.  We have music concerts, a yearly play, arts performances, 5th grade graduation and a variety show run by the parents.  It is wonderful.  The thing about the variety show is that there has been a teacher act for the past 20 years.    This has been my fourth time in the show. I always moan and groan, but I always succumb  and I join the show.  This is the first time there has been a guy in the show.  A new, young teacher who had sequins on his jacket lapel. The music was gangnam and he was the star and we were his ladies.  I can’t believe I was a part of these shenanigans, but I was.   The kids hooted and hollered, the parents were so happy and impressed by the show and we teachers had lots of laughs during the practice and during the show.  As bad as I think it is, it always is a blast.  To top it off we have a party afterwards and watch the video.  We have a strong community in our school and this is one of the ties that binds.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In the limelight

  1. elsie says:

    That is so cool! Sometimes when we go out of our comfort zone people get another perspective of the person we truly are.

Leave a Reply

