Inspiration

When I read Stacey’s post yesterday about coming up with a word for the new year my first thought was how will I ever come up with a word that is good enough? The first unconscious thought to enter my mind was the word rejoice.   I had only positive feelings about embracing that word.  2012 year ended with overwhelming sadness that has left an indelible mark on many of us.  The outpouring of love across the world has been amazing.  I have a family member who is going through a lot of turmoil.  As a result, there is a lot of negativity that surrounds her.  I am continually trying to remain upbeat, but it can be a struggle.

Quote:  You can complain that roses have thorns or you can rejoice that thorns have roses.

Rejoice will give me a healthy focus and  a goal for the new year.

 

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Inspiration

  1. elsie says:

    Perfect! That quote has so much power, I need to remember it when I look at issues that arise.

  2. What an great and upbeat way to start the year and to find the joy in the days that follow.

  3. Ruth says:

    Excellent. I love how REJOICE seems to have a little “joy” in it. May it be a word that wraps around you this year.
    Ruth

  4. Great quote and way to illustrate your word and the choice you are making with that word.

  5. margaretsmn says:

    When I hear the word Rejoice, I think of a Bible School song, “Rejoice in the Lord always, and again I say Rejoice.” It’s somehow stronger than Joy, more intentional, which it sounds like you need the intention in the face of some thorns. Happy New Year!

  6. Jaana says:

    Love the way REJOICE overpowers the negativity and sadness that can attempt to overtake us at times. I also agree with Ruth, there is definitely “joy” in REJOICE!

  7. Bev says:

    We need strong joyous words to push away the dark, the negativity!
    May your word keep you uplifted!

  8. Rejoicing in the positive sets the lens on how we see life! This also speaks to gratitude and being thankful for the smallest and simplest things too!
    May you find much to rejoice about!

  9. If we make ourselves seek it out, there really is joy in all things. I think you have made a great choice for your OLW – and thanks for sharing your thinking behind it. Rejoice in the new year!

Leave a Reply

