Surreal

Last Friday was my last day of conferences that had been rescheduled due to Hurricane Sandy.  It was a half day.  Early in the morning I received a text by my daughter stating that there had been a shooting at a nearby school where I had once worked.  My students were in my class and I remained composed.  My mind was thinking maybe a domestic dispute.

During lunch, shortly before school ended the facts came to light and teachers huddled together trying to make sense of it all.  Conferences continued as planned.  Parents came in and I scanned parent’s faces to see if they knew anything and waited to see if they would mention anything, but there was nothing. I maintained composure.

I was thankful that the weekend would allow me to work through my emotions.  I had lived in Sandy Hook and in Newtown.   I now live in a town that borders Newtown.

Monday arrived with an early morning faculty meeting to discuss how we would assure our children that they were safe.  It was soon cancelled when we got a message that a suspicious man was seen in the district with a possible gun.  A partial lockdown was enacted as the students arrived.   The lockdown lasted for over three hours.

Feelings:  Numbness, Shock, Sadness, Horror                                                                                      Love, Caring, United, Committed

I strongly believe that the positive emotions  will heal the negative feelings and we will overcome the evil that has come upon us.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Surreal

  1. Stacey says:

    If you read some of my other comments on other people’s Sandy Hook Elementary School posts, then you’ll see that I truly believe we’re at a tipping point. I think people are beyond outraged (as they should be). For me, my tipping point was back in March when the school in Toulouse, France were gunned down. Now this. This is my breaking point. Now I’m on the phone calling my elected officials (getting interns and recordings). But, I will persist, as I know all educators will because this cannot happen again.

    How scary that school was canceled yesterday. Partial lockdown. Oye ye ye.

    We will heal. It will take time, but we will move forward while still remembering those lives that were cut short.

  2. newtreemom says:

    My school is far from Newtown. Students came in yesterday with questions. One fourth grade class wanted to make a plan and see how fast they could get into hiding places. To have a lockdown in a school so near…so hard to imagine. So encouraging to see the positive feelings counteract the negatives. God bless us all as we strive toward the positive.

  3. Yes…Love, Caring, United, Committed! I pray you will be continue to process the added details of being so close and having lived at Sandy Hook and Newtown. This takes time.

  4. Surreal is indeed the word I think embodies the complex emotions around this horrific event. There was a SRO (standing room only) memorial service in my community Monday night….so many people with tear stained cheeks and hearts beating outside their chests….this has touched us deeply as Stacey says, we have reached a tipping point.

Leave a Reply

