Farewell

Seldom have I met someone who has made such an impression.  Yesterday my other team member and I wished her goodbye.  We were a threesome at the end of the hall finishing each others sentences and hysterically laughing.  I wondered what the fifth graders thought of us as they approached us ready to start the day.

Family matters have taken her away.  I admire her and her husband’s ability to make difficult sacrifices for the well being of their family.  Having known her I know that I have been changed for the better.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Farewell

  1. I have so many questions, but I think that’s what you wanted me to have as you crafted this piece. You left me wondering about so many things. Amidst my wonder, I will hope that her family matters get resolved so that she will come back to your end of the hall — someday.

  2. luckygurl says:

    It’s hard to say goodbye to a good colleague and friend. The brevity of your piece still contains so many strong emotions.

  3. Jaana says:

    I hope that the next time you meet again, it will be with a more joyous reason and feeling.

Leave a Reply

