I am from…

 

I am from the valley where the land was going to sink into the ocean according to my mother.

I am from New England where the changing seasons lift my soul.

I am from a childhood that moved around many times.

I am from no rough housing in the house.

I am from Sunday night ice cream sodas.

I am from hostess donuts on Sundays after church.

I am from fresh cow’s milk.

I am from hours spent playing in the woods with my brother and our neighbors.

I am from a family of 6 brothers and sisters and a dog or two and a cat.

I am from a place where college was not a choice, it was an expectation.

I am from a place where we did not confront, but looked the other way.

I am from two parents who loved us and did the best that they could and for that I am thankful.

 

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I am from…

  1. I loved reading your “I am from” poem today. It seems we share a lot things in common, especially the emphasis on education and caring parents!

  2. newtreemom says:

    I am from a place where we did not confront, but looked the other way.
    What a powerful line. I loved reading your “I am from”- it is amazing all we can share in these poems. Every time I read one, it seems there is at least one thing in common, and also new insights from our different backgrounds.

  3. readsomuch says:

    I really like this poem – thanks for sharing where you are from!

Leave a Reply

