A shot in the arm

There was a flu clinic at the end of the school day.

I looked forward to the half hour lapse between the end of the day and the start of the clinic.

An opportunity to explore the piles on my desk.

I popped in a bit early and got a form and a number, more digging; more sense of accomplishment.

My room was just a few doors down. I repeated this scenario a few times, checking to see if my number was near.

When my number was called, I sat in my chair, a student nearby gave me a big smile and a wave.

I looked across the room; a teacher was smiling and miming what was about to happen to us.

I cracked up.  Nothing like knowing that we are all in this together.

A sense of oneness battling the flu.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A shot in the arm

  1. Oh, that will be me in a couple days trying to battle the flue again this year. No heavy lifting. Stay healthy!

  2. Oh, that will be me in a couple days trying to battle the flu again this year. No heavy lifting. Stay healthy!

  3. newtreemom says:

    My fall break included a trip to the doctor’s office for the flu shot… and, since I just had my 60th birthday, the shingles vaccine, too. Here’s hoping for plenty of healthy days ahead…

Leave a Reply

