A spill

A hand held pencil sharpener hits the classroom floor.  Colored pencil shavings scatter across the floor.  Students drop to the floor eager to pick up the mess.  A student comes to me asking for a dust pan eager to help.  I quickly go to the cabinet to look for it, but it’s not there.  It must have been lost in the move.  A student asks can I go ask Mr. Gary (the custodian)?  I turn and there is Mr. Gary  (a savior) dropping off some lunchboxes found in the cafeteria. I ask him if he has a dustpan and broom.  He asks if I can send a student with him to get what we need.Within minutes the student returns armed with the needed tools.   Thank goodness for the weekly Slice of Life making me take notice of the small moments in my day, and the people around me that make my life so much easier.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A spill

  1. There is something big in that small moment. You captured it well.

  2. Thank YOU for pointing out this meaningful moment in your life, and how all these moments spark our reflection and gratitude.

  3. Terje says:

    Your last sentence says so much. It would have been possible to react to this situation with annoyance, but instead your slice is filled with gratitude.

  4. onesunflower says:

    Small moment full of momentous gratitude. Your straight forward story is a worthy reminder.

  5. Stacey says:

    I’m so glad that this challenge helps you be more intentional with your noticing of small moments. The kindness of others is certainly a worthy thing to slice about!

Leave a Reply

