Shaky ground

I have done this for many years.

A different grade this year.

Feeling uncertain about teaching a younger grade.

What are my expectations?

They should be high, but how high?

How will I know?

I will know through ongoing conversations between myself and my students.

Take it slow and get to know.

Soon I will be on  a solid footing,

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Shaky ground

  1. Lori says:

    Every time I switch grades I’m reminded of the adage, if it doesn’t kill you, it makes you stronger. Good Luck!

  2. elsie says:

    The ground will become firmer as you get to know your kids. You will have a great year and who knows, this might become your favorite grade.

  3. Jaana says:

    Great colleagues have always helped me in new situations! Best of luck!

  4. luckygurl says:

    “Take it slow and get to know”… Well put!

Leave a Reply

