A Plethora

It was approaching midnight.

The evening was warm, but comfortable.

Laying on a sleeping bag on our deck surrounded by trees.

There were numerous stars in the small clearing above our house.

The sky was not quite black, but within a short time the gray turned to black.

The Perseid Meteor Shower show began with rapid streaks of light crossing the sky.

Unforgettable.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Plethora

  1. Perfect! I love the look of the poem with each line getting longer. I want to be in a sleeping bag on the deck watching this amazing event too! xo

  2. A few days ago I promised myself I wouldn’t miss the Perseid Meteor Shower this year. And then, I heard yesterday morning that it peaked on Sunday night. Ack! Thanks to your poem, I was able to enjoy it by recalling memories of past meteor showers. Thanks for that.

  3. Ramona says:

    A friend and I just discussed the meteor showers and wondered why we never watch them. So glad you captured this time in your poem!
    I’ll use it in my classroom because plethora is one of our 6th grade WOW (word of the week) words.

  4. luckygurl says:

    Love seeing the meteor shower through your eyes. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

