A moment in time

The sound of  distant thunder.

Nature Sky Soundscape flowing through the speakers on the deck.

I sit next to the humming bird feeder.

The sound of a helicopter propeller signals me to the bird’s approach.

I watch as the bird  flits around using its tail feathers and then pauses for a drink.

I see its tongue as it pauses to enjoy the sweet nectar.

I look to the sky and clearly see that the is storm upon us.

The female comes.

The male comes.

They both fly off.

A bolt of lightning.

I scurry inside.

A  cherished  memory.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A moment in time

  1. Your little memory is similar to what I see on my patio – minus the approaching storm. The way the hummingbirds whirl in and whirl out is like a teeny tiny bird storm.

  2. I’m so happy that they put on a show. We have our bright flowers in a part of the yard that I don’t see every day. I like to imagine they are there early in the morning, taking a good drink. Do males and females look different? I loved your poem. xo nanc

  3. Dana says:

    Wow – to hear the wings and see the tongue. You were so quiet and observant. Love it! And the approaching storm just added so much to it.

  4. Betsy says:

    I love to watch a hummingbird flit and drink. It always feel like a special treat when I get a glimpse of one.

  5. Hummingbirds are just so special to me. I seldom fail to see one in my backyard. Your choice of words captured this moment clearly. Ahh…

  6. Did you know that hummingbirds symbolize peace, love and happiness? It seems that those are the feelings you feel when you are blessed enough to see one!

    I can’t believe you have actually seen their tongues! Wow!

  7. Such a good description of a brief moment in time!

  8. pamelahodges says:

    I thought the sound of distant thunder was coming over your speakers in the Nature Sky Soundscape. It was a nice play on word choice. When you saw the lightning then I knew the storm was real. A vivid image of the birds with the lightning.

Leave a Reply

