Scars

This particular summer has given me  memories that will last a lifetime.

It has been a scar summer.

Two scabs on my leg surrounded by a red rash that was a bit itchy.

Doctor did not think it was from a tick, maybe poison ivy, maybe spider bite.

Scabs have become small scars. (Likely a hungry spider)

Showing my daughter how to split wood….missed…

Split the skin on my pointer finger instead.

A one inch scar tells the tale.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Scars

  1. newtreemom says:

    I winced at the miss… Scars are part of life

  2. Ouch. Your writing spurred me to think deeper about the scars that are not visible and the tales they tell, too.

  3. Lynn says:

    Scars do tell a story…a part of our lives…sometimes happy memories and sometime not so much, but whatever the story it makes us who we are!

  4. readsomuch says:

    Your post reminds me about my knees as a kid. They were always covered in scabs because I was always outside, playing with friends, and always getting scraped! Sorry you have had an injury-filled summer, but the scars will remind you of all you did.

  5. Lory says:

    I never thought of a scar telling a story! Awesom!

  6. Kelly Mogk says:

    Ouch. I’ve been playing with a poem/vignette on scars myself — so it’s helpful to see someone else’s thoughts on the subject!

  7. Interesting that scars really do tell a story. I’m glad the splitting wood wasn’t worse! yikes xo nanc

  8. Carol Wilcox says:

    Wow! It really has been quite a summer! I’ll bet if you were modeling personal narrative with your students, this piece would draw out a lot of writing on kids’ parts! Everyone has a scar story!

  9. As we age it seems we usually have fewer visible scars as story markers. I know the scars I’ve received in the past few years are doosies – I seem to be getting so clumsy! I practically sliced the top of my finger off chopping wood for last year’s campfire – but oh what a great story we all could tell about it.

  10. There are so many types of scars. The physical scars, the emotional ones – the ones on our heart. Your writing had lots of layers. Thank you for sharing.

  11. I love the format and the word choice in your post. Your phrases, like scars, have more behind them, but they show enough to make the point.

  12. Lynnelle says:

    Ouch! I enjoyed reading your post I like the presentation of the poem. My favorite part is the use of ellipsis and parenthesis.

  13. Malissa says:

    Your poem reminded me that scars shape our lives and create memories. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

