A Wedding

Last weekend my family traveled a 13 hour drive for a wedding in Wisconsin.  It was my nephew’s wedding.  My nephew and his wife planned the wedding with some long distance advice from my sister.  My nephew is very easygoing, definitely not a type A person.  Details are not his strength. There were many situations that came up during the wedding, including  a 45 minute delay due to extraneous circumstances. My sister looked stunning and handled each circumstance like a pro along with my nephew and his bride.

Family members around me could not avoid talking about every issue that came up.  I ignored them.  I will remember their wedding for a long time to come.  Not because of the issues, but because it was a beautiful ceremony.  The groom and the bride were relaxed and they joked about their lateness,  They showed so much love towards each other and to those that were gathered.   I have been to a few lavish weddings where the bride and groom had spared no expense, yet their union did not last.  I feel very deeply that my nephew and his bride have a strong relationship that will stand the test of time.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Wedding

  1. Lynn says:

    Good for you…it’s not about the wedding but about the love between the couple!

  2. Dana says:

    I was at a wedding in WI/MI this weekend too. 😉 It’s unfortunate that people are so quick to judge at times rather than sit back, relax, and enjoy what is to come. I am glad you were able to stay focused on the positives.

  3. That was the bigger message. How wonderful that is what you saw it and shared.

  4. Ruth Ayres says:

    They sound like they are off to the right start — embracing the beautiful mess of life.

  5. Tara says:

    You enjoyed the thing you travelled to see…a young couple beginning their life together with joy and love….that’s all that counts, right?!

  6. Amy Rudd says:

    Sounds like it was a beautiful wedding! I still remember the advice Father gave let marriage double joy and cut burdens in half! It sounds like they are already off to this kind of start!

  7. Peg D says:

    The weddings that are the most fun are those that are embraced for the imperfections that make them truly unique. It’s definitely a good sign if they can the stresses with a smile and grace.

Leave a Reply

