Fifth Grade

In my classroom I see 24 students who are testing the end of fifth grade.
I hear laughter at their silly jokes.
I watch as they navigate the friendship maze.
I smell the cafeteria lunches that they love enough to have doubles.
I enjoy watching them so focused on what they are reading.
I taste their hunger to move on to sixth grade.                                                       I notice that they are conflicted with moving on.                                                   I want them to have fond memories of fifth grade.                                                 I wish they learn to take each day at a time and enjoy the ride.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fifth Grade

  1. CBethM says:

    So sweet.

    I see so much of my ninth graders – and even my seniors – in this. 🙂

  2. luckygurl says:

    This is a sweet snapshot of that “in between” time… The easy comfort of familiarity with the restlessness of moving on.

  3. elsie says:

    It is so fun to sit back and watch the kids and to think back on what they were like when the year started. They change so much in so few months.They do want to be sixth graders and grown-up. Nice capture of the essence of your kids.

  4. I know from teaching 8th grade that teach the age that will leave to go to the next school is tough. Even for us as teachers it is difficult to take each day at a time and enjoy the rode. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

