Slice 30 Kid memories

The best time for me as a kid was when I was ten years old. My family had moved to the other side of the state due to my dad’s new job. The house was a cape with three acres that bordered a large area of woods near the border of Rhode Island. My brother and I quickly made friends with the next door neighbors who had two boys and a girl who were all around the same age as us. We were never home. Often we would make some sandwiches, grab some apples and some homemade root beer and follow the power lines to see where we would end up. We explored the streams and the ponds nearby. The five of us would jump on our bikes equipped with baskets and pick wild blueberries, blackberries and raspberries until our faces and hands were stained with the juice of dripping berries. Later we would ride our bikes down the long country road to sit on the fence and watch the gorgeous Arabian horses at a horse farm. We would hide out among the dirt piles of a nearby construction site and spy on the elderly Italian couple who would go out to their stone well and draw water. We believed that she was a witch and we would keep an eye on her to see what magic she might perform. We would build forts from cardboard boxes and decorate them with paint and materials. Another favorite activity was to pull out the metal garbage cans in front of the garage and become musicians with air guitars and metal drums. It was a simple life where we all got along. All things must come to an end. After two years we  moved down south and life changed after that. I am grateful that I have those memories that will stay with me always.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slice 30 Kid memories

  1. I think of how the imaginary landscapes of our childhoods (your stories connected with my stories) built out of ideas and exploration (and getting lost for hours on end, or being told by my parents top “get outside” for the entire day) is so different from my own children’s (we worry if they are gone for hours on end and worry when they are home with digital devices), and I wonder why that is so ….
    Kevin

  2. Lori says:

    I loved those summer days as a kids. We’d get a few coins for a soft drink, ride 5 miles to buy it, take it with us to the park and play all day. As it began to grow dark and we were hungry we’d ride back home. Filthy, tired and happy as we retold the adventures of our day.

Leave a Reply

