Slice 29 Feel it in the air

The kids came in to class for social studies. They were chatty as they came in and had a bit of difficulty settling down. The sound of an impending message over the intercom, but no voice for several seconds. The voice eventually came on to say that outdoor recess would be cancelled unless the weather changed. That message was greeted with 5th grade questions about why? How can they do this to us? As the class and I looked out the bank of windows overlooking the playground I began the the word work for the day as the sound of distant thunder was heard. The sky began to change. I began a Discovery video of Canada noticing children to see that their eyes were on the playground outside. The sky had become dark and the impending storm was about to begin.The tension was in the air.The rain came down in torrents and the wind began to pick up. I started the video, but I left one light on because it was too dark not to. A calmness was felt in the classroom as the rain fell and the students watched video with rapt attention.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slice 29 Feel it in the air

  1. Dana says:

    I could feel your patience as you rode out the storm until the calm that occurred at the end when they were back in your grasp and ready to learn.

  2. Tam says:

    Oooh, I like this. It sounds like it could be part of a scene in a story. I guess you didn’t have to defend the idea of not going out after all.

  3. blogpraylove says:

    Weather such as the kind you described can make me nervous at school. The kids can totally forget class and direct their focus on that storm. The toughest day can be when the first snow arrives! kids yelling, waves of excitement surging! Glad the rain finally came and you were able to get the kids focused again 🙂

  4. Paul says:

    This makes me miss the days when I had a classroom with outside windows. I teach in the middle of the building now, and you never know what’s going on outside. Windows make you feel so much more connected to the world. This recalled for me many tense and gentle and excited moments that were created by weather in my other classrooms in other schools. Thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

