Slice 28 Due date

This morning I saw that it was March 28th on my phone and I had a nagging thought that this was a special day. I remembered that March 28th was the due date for my youngest daughter who is soon to turn 22.  I contribute that memory to my sister.  My sister called me up on March 28th to see how things were progressing.  She told me that I absolutely should not have a baby on April Fool’s Day and if I was still pregnant on April 1st I should remain still and wait until April 2nd.  That was one of the most ridiculous pieces of advice I have ever gotten.  I was not going to sit around twiddling my thumbs.  I worked weekends at a local hospital and I called my supervisor to let her know that I would come into work since I hadn’t given birth.  She didn’t take me up on the offer.   Bottom line, my daughter was born on March 31st and missed the Fool’s Day deadline. This morning I texted my daughter: Today you were due. Her response was:  Cool.  I’d have to agree.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slice 28 Due date

  1. Chelsie says:

    It’s funny how days stick. I (nearly) always get the same feeling when a date comes up that once had or has significance but isnt necessarily listed on the calendar. July 31st- the day Pepe died. Feb 14th- Amy’s dad’s wake. December 31st- the day I broke my arm in the fifth grade. April 6th and June 23rd- past boyfriends’ birthdays. August 8th- Kirsten my American Girl Doll’s birthday. And of course, Sept. 15th- you and dad’s anniversary, although I always get a twinge on the 14th because I put it in my calendar as so I don’t forget. If I’m not careful, everyday of the year will soon be like this!

Leave a Reply

