Slice 26 Feeling tense

Yesterday my sisters took me to a spa for my birthday to get a mani, a pedi and a facial.  The facial was wonderful.  Susan had amazing hands as she stroked my face with the various beautifully scented  products and wrapped the warm towel around my face as relaxing music soothed my soul. It was so peaceful. The pedi was next and that was a different story.  The three of us sat on our “thrones” next to each other as the ladies placed our feet in our whirlpools and then lathered lotion on our legs and feet as we all chatted about various topics.  I did not mind the sanding of the rough edges of my feet and soles.  A tad ticklish, but that was okay.  As Susan began to aggressively file my toenails I began to tense.  It set my teeth on edge. She quickly said, “Relax!”  As she progressed from the big toe down the line to the smaller toes, the more uncomfortable I got.  When she got to my baby toe she said,” I think you could swing from a limb with that toe you are so tense.”  Fat chance I would put my little piggy through that!  I thought to myself.  By the end of it all my toenails were a beautiful lavender color.  The things we do for beauty.

 

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Slice 26 Feeling tense

  1. At my first pedi, just a few years ago…the pedicurist (?) asked / said, “long time no pedi!”
    It’s a great but weird sensation – all rolled into one!

  2. wkb57 says:

    Not too crazy about people touching my feet! I have only had one pedi…loved the outcome and the leg message but not so crazy about the foot work:)

  3. elsie says:

    I am glad there are people out there who will work on feet. It’s not a job I would want. Wonder why you tensed as she worked on the nails?

  4. Carol says:

    I have never had a pedicure, not once in my whole life. I had kind of thought about doing it this week, but your post makes me wonder if I would like it at all.

  5. Dana says:

    Oh I love a pedi. Sorry it made you tense. I like Elsie wonder how people can work with feet. They get props. HAPPY BELATED!

  6. djts says:

    My daughter wants us to get pedicures together sometime when I’m visiting. She loves them, but I just cringe at the thought of filing…fingernails on chalkboard cringe…I don’t even file my fingernails. Emery boards are a torture device to me. I’m pretty sure I could never get used to it and enjoy a pedi. Maybe the facial.

  7. caroline524 says:

    My sister always makes fun of me because I love the results but hate the touching of my toes. I am always on the edge of my seat and won’t relax until the file and clippers are put away.

  8. Tam says:

    No, no one can touch my toes either. I thought I was the only one like that. Everyone I know thinks pedicures are great. I’ll stick with a body massage though.

  9. Josie Stewart says:

    I am with you on the filing part… almost like being in the dentist chair. The rest of the experience is wonderful. Glad you like your nail polish though! And what a sweet sister.

Leave a Reply

