Slice 25 Sleep or lack there of

I have an annoying habit which I would like to break.  I very seldom get more than six hours of sleep a night.  This is okay during the weekdays because I feel I have so much to do and I can function pretty well with this amount of sleep.   The problem lies in that this habit continues on Saturday and Sunday morning, which is okay sometimes, but generally I would like my brain to ditch the call to early morning action on those days. On beautiful early mornings I acquiesce and go outside with my coffee and leisurely greet the day.   I mostly get annoyed when it is a dark, rainy morning and feel it would be lovely to sleep in.

This morning was a change in the routine.  I woke at 6:30 having had 7 hours of sleep!  I lay in bed thinking good I will jump out of bed and go to 7:00 mass and start to do all the things that I need to get ready for Monday.  I lay there next to my husband who was deep in dreamland and looked out the window to see a dreary day.  My body was sending me the message: You are still sleepy.  My brain told me,” yeah,okay.”  As I willed my body to go back to sleep, my brain went into overdrive listing all the things I could get done.  My body said, “Follow your breath.”  I shut out the list and paid close attention to my breathing,  An hour later I opened my eyes with the realization that I won!  I am thinking a nap maybe in order in the early afternoon.  What a wonderful day!

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slice 25 Sleep or lack there of

  1. elsie says:

    It’s a rare treat to be able to lull the body back to sleep when the mind says go. But a dreary day helps a lot. A nap sounds good, if it’s still dreary.

  2. jen says:

    Aren’t dreary days lovely? They seem to be the only time my body wins! Even if I have to move to the couch, or take it in the form of a nap, there is nothing better than being as dreary as the sky on a gray day to give my body some much-deserved extra rest. 🙂

  3. Lori says:

    My husband doesn’t understand why I get up early on the weekends. I usually takes a couple of weeks off before I can get a good long night’s sleep. I love naps but they don’t come my way often.

  4. pamelahodges says:

    “Follow your breath.” Loved that line.
    I hope you had a restful day. And somewhere in there you found a nap.

Leave a Reply

