Slice 24 Scenes from a window

Scene 1

Sitting in a Boston bar an hour before New Year’s Eve I watch a young girl and a boy out the window.  He is dressed in a shirt and tie with a warm jacket.  She is wearing a dress with high heels and a wool coat.  There is distance between them.  The boy is waving his hands as he speaks to the girl.   His mouth is wide when he talks leading me to believe he is yelling at her.  Her eyes look down and her arms are folded in front of her.  She says little, but I see she has begun to cry.  He is looking frustrated and he suddenly storms off leaving her in the distance.  She watches him go.  She leans her back against the building next to her as tears flow down her cheeks.  Her arms stay crossed next to her body.  She waits.  I continue to watch her as party hats and noise makers are passed out around the bar.  My heart aches for her hoping that he comes back for her.  Time passes and she walks to the corner of the building and makes a phone call.  She makes a few more calls and then walks away.

Scene 2

Sitting in a salon chair as the stylist cuts my hair.  A woman passes the window wiping away the tears from her eyes with her grey sweatshirt.  She seems alone and my heart goes out for her wondering what is wrong.  A man slowly walks by the window and I wonder if they could be together.  He does not seem eager to catch up with her so I doubt they are together.  Ten minutes pass and the woman comes by the window again still looking very upset.  The man is behind her and says something to her.  She looks back looking more upset and says something to him and walks away wiping her tears. He looks uncomfortable not knowing what to say, but continues to follow her.

Scene 3

Scene 1 and 2 are slices of life that will remain memories for me for a long time to come.  They are snippets of people’s lives that show heartache. I wonder what the stories are behind the tears.  My prayers are that their sadness was short lived.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slice 24 Scenes from a window

  1. Deanna H says:

    Wow! I really enjoyed reading those scenes from windows. Heartbreaking though. It made me worried for the girls. You did a great job!

  2. Dana says:

    Those were heart breaking but beautifully captured scenes. I love how you took two very separate memories tied by the same theme and put them into one writing piece. You captured the emotion so well.

Leave a Reply

