Slice 21 word crafting

Just like many teachers report cards are not my idea of a good time.  I am always at a loss for words when it comes to report card comments.  I generally have an idea what I want to say about a student, but when it comes to writing about something a child needs to improve I spend a great deal of time with the word crafting to make sure it comes across in a positive way.

I go back several times and edit and rethink the sentence to make sure it will in no way be misconstrued.  I then go back to make sure the indicators align with the comments.  It is a long and dreary process.  In the school I am in, the principals want to see the comments and the report cards prior to them being posted.  I can’t imagine having to read and edit all of those comments.  Fortunately for me the principal gives a due date to give herself enough time to complete the task.  Due dates are wonderful for me.  I always strive to beat the due date by a day or two, partly because I put myself in the principal’s shoes and I would love if teachers gave me extra time to get the job done.  The other reason for getting it done early is because I like to get it off my plate and move on otherwise  I would keep making changes.  Besides I need to see what is going on with the Slice, write a few comments and think about what I will write for the next 10 days.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Slice 21 word crafting

  1. You are so right about those report card comments. Back in the “ol’ days” when teachers write the non-meaningful “is a pleasure to have in class” or “keep up the good work” or “try harder”…I don’t think parents or anyone ever read those comments. NOW, every word is weighed and reflected on by multiple observers. It’s a dauntlng process that makes jealous of HS teachers who use a computer-restricted list of comments!

  2. Now I only have a restricted list of comments 😦 which I do not like and usually boycott using at all. Personal comments, though time consuming, gave me an opportunity to let families in on something unique I was learning about their child. It gave me a chance to reveal something that grades alone couldn’t. I miss them. I,too, was happy when they were done and often struggled through. Bravo that you completed this task early!

Leave a Reply

