Slice 19 Routine

I woke up thinking I will travel the day and look for some inspiration to write about when I get home tonight.  The voice in my head nagged at me saying get it done.  Don’t procrastinate.  So here I am.

My morning routine begins the night before reminding my husband to make sure the coffee is ready to go.

5:15 sound of a bell tower alarm.  (I am already up).

I lay there for a bit.   Turn my computer on and prepare my morning oatmeal and get cups of coffee ready for myself and my husband.  I cuddle up in bed with my coffee, oatmeal and my computer next to my sleeping husband.  I switch on the morning news to check the weather and to give me extra light.

5:50  I iron my clothes, then jump in the shower.

6:00  My husband stretches and rises.

6:10  I retire to the upstairs bedroom to quietly sit on some yoga blocks and meditate to prepare for the day.

6:30  I return to my bedroom to begin the couple dance of navigating our small bedroom as the two of us finish getting ready for the day.  Some days it can get heated, but my inner spirit usually kicks in.

6:30  Make a requested morning wake up call to first born in Boston.  (I am a backup to her 5 alarms that she has set.)

6:50 Peaceful drive on country roads to work.

7:00  Make requested morning wake up call to second born in Philadelphia.  I love that I am the first voice my girls hear in the morning.

7:20ish Arrival at school.  Greet the custodian, sign in.  Make some copies and catch up with the other early morning teachers about their weekend.  The rest of the morning is getting ready for the day and chatting with co-workers.  No meetings this morning.  I love this time of the day.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slice 19 Routine

  1. Stacey says:

    I love that you provide a wake-up call for your daughter in Philly. That is so sweet.

  2. caroline524 says:

    I always feel like early morning is the best time to get things done. It sets the tone for the day.

  3. wkb57 says:

    Another morning person here too. I often write my piece the night before but I always think my best work is in the AM.

Leave a Reply

