Slice 16 Classroom Conversation

Yesterday I passed out the Math Standardized Test book.  As I passed it out I said to the class this one is thicker than the Literacy Test book that you had last week.  One of my dramatic fifth grade girls said,”Do we have to take all three of the math tests?”  My response, “Of course you do.  Do you think that someone would spend all the time to make a test and not give it to students?” Her dramatic response was, “They are crushing our inner souls!”  I chuckled and said, “I will write a letter to the head of education and let them know.”

Today students were sharing how the test went for them.  Most of the students were upset with the amount of open ended questions. One fifth grade math whiz said, ” If I know the answer why do I have to explain my thinking when I write the answer?”  My response was, “If you want to be a leader you need to be able to speak well and explain your thinking.”  His response was, “I don’t want to be  a leader.”  My retort was, ” As members of the human race we communicate our thinking.”  His comeback, “I will become a giraffe.”

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Slice 16 Classroom Conversation

  1. wkb57 says:

    Quick with humor…I bet that young man is fun in class! I could hear hear the kids voices in my mind…tells me you wrote this for an audience:) I wish I had take the time to write down every funny thing the kids have said over my career. It would be very entertaining for my retirement:)

  2. I always tell my grad students, they should write down all the amazing things kids say….I always say I should have….I am so glad you shared this slice…HOW WONDERFUL to be able to “laugh” as we show what we can do!

  3. Jennifer K. says:

    I love getting a peek into other people’s classrooms. Kids are so funny! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Donna Smith says:

    And they may in fact be “crushing our inner souls”! Perhaps it would be easier to be a giraffe! Wonderfully dramatic class you have there!

  5. Lori says:

    I’m thinking he’ll do well on the writing test!

  6. Lauren says:

    I often wished I were my cat on days where I had big tests or projects to turn in… they get to sleep all day and lay in the sun! Maybe I still wish this sometimes…. Great story!

  7. Dana says:

    If my choices are crushing my inner soul or being a giraffe, I pick giraffe. 😉 Glad the kids could keep a sense of humor about it. We are testing more than ever this year. Makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

