Slice 15 A Sister’s Birthday

Today is my oldest sister Lee’s birthday.  My sister Lee is the oldest of seven kids and I am the youngest of the seven.  There are  fifteen years between us.  I was in first grade when I was the flower girl in her wedding.  I have few memories of her back then other than she was kind and caring.  When she got married she and her husband would sometimes pick me up and take me to a local museum or go out for ice cream. A few years after their wedding my two brothers, my parents and I moved down south.  Then began our yearly trip to my sister’s apartment for a magnificent Thanksgiving meal.  My sister lived in a beautiful old apartment with a large dining room.  She had a beautiful large table that fit our expanding family. That is when my sister perfected her Martha Stewart skills long before Martha had made her self known.  She introduced us to new foods such as cold potato soup.  Needless to say our Irish father was not a fan.  So began many family events at her place with entertainment that included games such as Charades that has left a lasting hilarious memory for all of who were there. Every summer in high school I would take the train to spend a week with each of my sisters.  My time with Lee was spent doing needlepoint, reading, biking and going on mini excursions.  I ended up coming back north to go to college. Lee and her husband moved into an old colonial house and  the Thanksgiving tradition continued throughout the years  as siblings married and had children of their own.  My two daughters loved those Thanksgivings.  Lee and her husband helped me out with child care during the summer when I was working,   My girls had the same experiences that I had as a young girl.  I have a picture of them dressed up for a tea party with their aunt.   All things must come to an end and the Thanksgiving traditions ended when my sister and her husband moved Florida.  It was a  sad day for all of us. Not all things have come to an end.  My sister welcomes all (in small groups) to come to Florida. In her retirement she has perfected her Martha skills.  When you visit her you are truly spoiled including chocolates by the bedside.  She has taken notes on every family members favorite things.  My daughters were there a couple of weeks ago and were overwhelmed with her attention to them.   I see Lee two or three times a year.  Every week we talk on the phone for close to an hour.  I cannot imagine my family’s life without her. Happy Birthday Lee!

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Slice 15 A Sister’s Birthday

  1. Kat says:

    What a lovely birthday tribute to your sister. Your details show how wonderful Lee is and how much you love her.

  2. wkb57 says:

    What a great tribute to a wonderful older sister. You and your children are so lucky to have her.

  3. Deb Day says:

    You are so lucky to have such a close bond with your sister! Even far away you seem to be close. This is wonderful. I hope you share it with her.

  4. Nothing like a good sisterly relationship. You and she are both lucky.

Leave a Reply

