Slice 12 train trips

Today I took a train to meet my daughter in New York City.   The ride awakened my senses and  brought back teenage memories of trips on the train from Washington D.C. to Connecticut to visit my 3 grown up sisters every summer.  Sometimes my brother would come, but most of the time I took the trip by myself. Every day on my way to work I drive a road that follows the train tracks for most of my drive. Today I watched out the window and I got a different view of the road, houses along it, the woods and the winding river.

I love the sound of a train whistle as it approaches a stop.                                                                           I love the sound of a train as it lulls me to sleep.                                                                                                                       I love listening to the murmurs of conversation around me.                                                                              I love having that time to get lost in a book or maybe two if it is a long train ride.                                                    I love having the solitude of catching up on my Podcasts that I never seem to have time for.   I love having my arm around my adult daughter as she rests her head on my chest.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slice 12 train trips

  1. Janet says:

    What a lovely description of a miraculous ride on the train. I think trains are hypnotic. We don’t have them this far north, but I look forward to riding them every time I can. I love the vision of you and your daughter. Very special!

  2. Deb Day says:

    I envy you and your train rides–I’ve never gotten to and seems like such a romantic, slow way to travel…a step back in time. But I love the end of this slice–it was so poetic. All the things you love and ending with your daughter–beautiful

  3. girlgriot says:

    I love this slice, especially that last line/image, so loving and beautiful. And I love the spacing of your poem, nice pauses.

    I also love train travel. There’s something so great about the rhythm of the train, the way you’re able to see your surroundings differently than when you’re driving … Hope you have a wonderful visit with your daughter!

Leave a Reply

