Slice 11 A Birthday Song

First off,  as I begin this post I am feeling reassured that I read Ruth’s post that this week could be grueling.

Last week I celebrated one of those “big” birthdays.  I am not one to want to be in the spotlight let alone on my birthday whether it is a big birthday or not.  In fact because of various events that took place the morning of my birthday I was a bit grumpy.  On my way to work my inner voice kept telling me to let things go.  During a meeting before school with the principal and other teachers a teacher came into the room behind me and put  a crown on me.  You see, in my school that is what they do.  Last year I politely wore it for about an hour and then took it off.   I threw caution to the wind that day and I wore it for the rest of the day, except for when we went out of school for lunch.  All day long kids were wishing me a Happy Birthday. I was informed that no one had ever worn the crown for the entire day.  When I went to pick up my students at lunch the entire fifth grade sang a very loud rendition of Happy Birthday to me.  I tried to hide behind a cafeteria table that was folded up, but the para who instigated the singing dragged me out.  I had my moment of fame and it wasn’t too too bad.  It will be a birthday I will always remember.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Slice 11 A Birthday Song

  1. Wanda Brown says:

    Happy Birthday…sometimes you just have to kick off your shoes and live a little:) You probably made a few kid’s day. They love it when we care about the same things they care about.

  2. blkdrama says:

    Happy B day… now I’m so egotistical that I would have loved the attention but being an August baby that never happened… glad you enjoyed it this year.
    Bonnie

  3. Dana says:

    Happy Belated Birthday. Ah, holidays in schools – it can be the best and worst place to be.

  4. Julie Crocker says:

    GOOD!!!!! Birthdays should always be celebrated, honored, thrown out there for everyone to acknowledge, in my opinion. It is a day just for YOU and you deserve to shine. Happy Birthday!

  5. Lauren says:

    funny. last year i voluntarily wore a crown and a big “diamond” ring. I declared myself queen for a day! my first graders loved it! I guess I felt like the sillier I made it, the better it would be! Happy Birthday!

  6. sprice says:

    Hey, you can’t help how old you are, besides the alternative is not good so you might as well celebrate! Happy Birthday! I sympathize to a point because there is a good chance I am older than you, but what does that matter. Birthdays mean you are here and everyone is special, an individual, one of a kind. You are here for a purpose! Enough said. It’s cool that your school recognizes you and does something for you! Thanks for sharing! Happy Slicing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

