Slice 10 Favorite Day of the Week

This year during morning meeting we spend more time during share which often leads to not having time for an activity.  I figure that’s okay because this is a  very chatty fifth grade that loves to share.  I post on the morning message what the share is for the day.  I posted: Share your favorite day of the week and why.  As I was scurrying around getting ready for the day I wondered what my favorite day was and I thought it was probably Saturday, but the question of why lingered in my busy brain.  I chose a student in the middle to begin the share.  I chose a student far away from me to give me time to come up with the why.  Most students chose Saturday because they could sleep in.  I thought that is true , but not for me because I am an early riser.  One child shared that Friday is their favorite day because the weekend is coming, you can stay up late, and you have two days for the weekend.  I realized that Saturday was not my favorite day.  Friday is my favorite day because it is the beginning of a weekend, not the middle.  I am glad that I got that cleared up!  The things you can learn from kids.

Surprisingly, one student chose Tuesday because that was the day she was born.  I shared that with a fellow teacher which prompted the two of us to talk about Mother Goose and what we remembered about the  Monday’s Child Poem.  We recited most of it but here it is in case you were wondering.  By the way I looked up (magic of the internet) what day I was born and I have far to go, but I am okay with that.

Mondays child is fair of face,
Tuesdays child is full of grace,
Wednesdays child is full of woe,
Thursdays child has far to go,
Fridays child is loving and giving,
Saturdays child works hard for his living,
And the child that is born on the Sabbath day
Is bonny and blithe, and good and gay.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

