Slice 9 Sticking to something

Last year was a difficult teaching year for me.  I had a student who the assistant principal referred to as an alpha male.  I lost my confidence and I was beating myself up over it.  I knew something needed to change so I reached out looking for anything to help me get through the year.  I signed up for a continuing ed yoga/meditation class.  It was the best decision I have ever made.  It met once a week at a local school.  There were about 15 of us.  I would usually set my mat next to Margaret and we would roll our eyes and shake our heads as we watched the instructor turn into a pretzel.  Around us were veteran yoga students.  The yoga instructor would always come to the two of us correcting our postures.  She would give us instructions such as move your left foot to the right.  Inevitably we would get flustered and move the foot the wrong way and she would say something like your other right.  The meditation part was okay. Usually there were about three of us.  The yoga instructor would give a short talk about meditation as we sat on a couple of blocks and then focused on our breath for 15-20 minutes. It was okay when there were three of us because I felt lost in the “crowd.”  It wasn’t so easy when it was jist the two of us.  I would think about my breath, but then she would break in and  tell me to “broaden my chest.”  My thinking about my breath turned to is my chest broad and how many more minutes left.  I stuck it out for the 9 weeks and made up classes I missed.  I was determined to see this through.  The bottom line is over a year has gone by and I am keeping up with the practice and it has been a very positive change to my life. 

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slice 9 Sticking to something

  1. Chelsie says:

    So often we give, give, give, and never give to ourselves. As a teacher, a mother and a wife, you are always selfless and I know that must take a toll on your inner strength.

    I am so glad to read about the positive changes yoga/meditation has had on your life. I think your practice shines through whenever I have an opportunity to spend time with you. You have a greater sense of calm, poise and perspective. And needless to say, it keeps you healthy! Thanks for inspiring me to find my own practice – whether it be yoga, zumba, or dancing around in my living room like a crazy person. When you give to yourself, you become whole.

    And so I leave you with a quote from a man who was both giving and wise:

    “You can search throughout the entire universe for someone who is more deserving of your love and affection than you are yourself, and that person is not to be found anywhere. You yourself, as much as anybody in the entire universe deserve your love and affection.”
    -Buddha

    • showgem says:

      I opened your comment without looking at who it came from. I have had some wonderful comments made on prior posts. As I read it I started thinking how does this person know me? Then I scanned and I saw it was you. Your insight and thoughtfulness brought tears to my eyes. Thank you and thank you or the wonderful quote from Buddha.
      See you soon,
      Mom xo

  2. Wanda Brown says:

    We do control negatives and can turn them into positives…your post proves it! Good for you!

  3. Betsy says:

    Good for you for sticking it out! I think our bodies crave reflection and deep breathing!

  4. Dana says:

    I’ve been a yogi for about 6 years now. One of the best things I’ve ever done for myself. I am so grateful each and every time that I make it to my mat. I am glad you found a practice that is working for you.

Leave a Reply

