Slice 8 Musings About the Slice

I was driving home thinking about how my life will be different after this challenge is over. A calvalcade of thoughts entered my mind.

My inner voice was saying that’s crazy.  Why are you having these thoughts when it has only been 6 days?  Which led me to the following question and answer session:

(Q) Does that mean you will miss this?

(A) I think I may go through a bit of withdrawal when it is over.

(Q)Does that mean this is taking up a considerable amount of time?

(A) It does take some time management, but I am not stressed about the amount of time because I choose how much time I spend.  I find I linger as I write my post and recheck it to see if it makes sense.  I linger reading other slicer’s posts.  I eagerly respond to posts that I connect with, laugh about, or touch me.  There are many.

(Q)Does this mean that you will feel lost/sad when this is over?

(A) It maybe bitter sweet. I know there is always next year to return and there is a weekly slice that I can join.

Conclusion:  This journey is affecting me in ways that I did not expect.  Life is good.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Slice 8 Musings About the Slice

  1. I agree – but i will need to eventually catch up on laundry and py the bills!

  2. Jodi Mahoney says:

    It’s amazing what you miss when you didn’t do it before…now this challenge and the writing is part of you.

  3. Juliann says:

    I remember my first year of this challenge – when it was over, I had a writer’s twitch the next day.
    But then I just kept writing and writing and figuring out how to fit it in to the rest of my life.

  4. Julie Crocker says:

    I completely feel the same way. I am trying to enjoy every sweet moment of this challenge because I know it will be over – too soon. It IS taking up time, but right now just time away from bad TV, so it’s a good thing. I KNOW I will do the Tuesday challenge after this is over, but I still want more than that. This could very well be life transforming for me. And yes, LIFE IS GOOD.

  5. jone says:

    I like your musings. I like reading what others are writing. I am surprised that I’m not more stressed about writing. It’s worked out good so far.

  6. Jama says:

    I know what you mean! I hadn’t even gotten to the thought about withdrawal yet. You are right. After doing this for a month there may be some withdrawal. It is good that there is a weekly slice of life that continues. Your ruminations gave me more to think about. I appreciate that.

Leave a Reply

