Slice 6 Compliments

It is funny how I can go days, maybe months and not get a compliment and not think twice about it.  Today I got two and it made me stop and think how something like a compliment can have a lasting affect on someone. One of the compliments was from a parent who had come across a writing prompt in her son’s backpack.  She showed it to her husband and they were very pleased with what he had done.  Writing has always been a struggle for him. She knew that I had been working to push him to include more detail in his writing.  The second compliment was from a 5th grade student in my class.  I teach editing and revising to all three fifth grade classes.  Today was the editing and revising standardized test.  I asked one of the classes how they think it went.  One of the students eagerly shared that he finished in about 25 minutes (its a 60 minute test).  I responded by dramatically holding my heart and telling him please don’t tell me that.  Another student chimed in and said, “What he is telling you is that you did a really great job of teaching.”  I couldn’t help, but smile.
One thing I have noticed since this writing challenge is that I am spending more time savoring the details of my life.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Slice 6 Compliments

  1. Wanda Brown says:

    Compliments are the fuel that keep us going. I find if you give them out they eventually make their way back to you. Nice topic.

  2. Take those to heart! I know I sometimes dismiss the kind words that come my way because of the daily stresses we all bear. Today I will be mindful of compliment giving so that my words can have a lasting affect on someone, too.

  3. MaryHelen says:

    Savoring the details of life – I like that. I find that be looking for the story of the day, the little things matter. Your topic today is a reminder to notice the little things in others and compliment them. I’m glad your student complimented you. Take this comment as one as well.

  4. gillis says:

    Yes! Positive feedback feeds us, doesn’t it? You’ve reminded me to find more ways to share it with others, remembering how powerful it can be. Thanks for this post-lovely.

    I have to say – the idea of a standardized test on editing skills is bizarre – just editing? Not actually writing? This is the first I’ve heard of such a thing…

Leave a Reply

