Slice 3 Standardized Test Invasion

I woke up from  the dream world with my head spinning.  Not sure what went on during my dreams, but not feeling grounded and a bit anxious.  Generally I acknowledge that feeling when I wake up and see what if anything I remember and then move on with my day.  This morning was a bit different.  I got my cup of coffee and began to peruse the Slice of Life Challenge and to think what I would write about.

As I checked out a few posts, I began to have flashbacks of my dream. I saw my self sitting at my desk with my old principal standing behind me watching what I was doing.  A few of my 5th grade parents were standing in line at the door.  One by one they came in and handed me their child’s corrected standardized test in a brown envelope.

Over the years I have taken the standardized testing in stride.  I work hard all year to deliver instruction so that students are successful learners and can do well in all that they do.  This year there is a heightened anxiety when the government is deciding how to do that and to tie it to the teacher’s evaluation.  I am not happy that standardized testing is now invading my dreams.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slice 3 Standardized Test Invasion

  1. Carol says:

    Our standardized tests start Tuesday and I’m having dreams too, but actually most of them are nightmares! How I hate that part of teaching! Wonder about the significance of your dream…

Leave a Reply

