The death of Da…

The death of Davey Jones brought back  memories of Saturday afternoon watching the Monkeys on television in our basement.  My brother and I would watch it together.  We would play air guitar and think we were so cool. We would sing I’m a Believer at the top of our lungs with a pretend microphone (if we didn’t have a pretend guitar). Then we would run outside to enjoy the day.  It also reminded me of how things have changed over time.  My brother and I were once so close, but life has sent us in different directions and our paths seldom cross.  My brother and I did not have it easy growing up, but we were there for each other and we learned to enjoy life as best we could when we were young.  Memories can be bittersweet.

About showgem

I am a wife, a mother, a fifth grade writing teacher, a sister, a daughter, a sibling, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a co-worker, a yoga practitioner, a learner, a reader and a writer.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The death of Da…

  1. Christina says:

    I remember singing, “Hey, hey, we’re the Monkees. And people say we monkey around, But we’re too busy singing to put anybody down.” This era of my life was spent young and fancy,

  2. Pam Bachner says:

    You’ll keep you brother closer to you by cherishing those earlier memories.

  3. Wanda Brown says:

    I think many people traveled back in time this week. I remember being “The Monkees” in the sixth grade with three girlfriends. I have not seen those friends since college. Bittersweet is a great way to put it. Thanks for taking us back, I think:)

  4. Stacey says:

    I cannot relate to growing apart from a sibling since I don’t have one. That said, memories are bittersweet. Sometimes something that felt so good can make us long for the life that once was.

  5. Tammy says:

    I’ll bet your brother would enjoy remembering and reading your slice about your memory as well. And Davey Jones was my first TV crush, then of course came Sean Cassidy!
    Tammy

    First Grade @ Klinger Cafe

  6. newtreemom says:

    Yes, bittersweet…or maybe it should be sweetlybitter…

Leave a Reply

